Ireland

petals IMG_8934 IMG_9133 Ireland3How do you even begin to describe such a wonderful trip? I don’t intend to drag every little detail out into a hundred posts, don’t worry… But if any of you are planning a trip to Europe and would like more play-by-play info, feel free to e-mail me. I’d be happy to share more of what we saw, where we stayed, and what we did!

For today though, CLICK HERE to view a little slide show I put together on our trip to the Emerald Isle.

We flew into Dublin, and drove across the country (on the wrong side of the road!) to the west coast and the enchanting hamlet of Doolin. The people, music, food, and cliffs were everything we’d dreamed they would be.~ And would you believe it? The weather was delightful! In Ireland. What an unexpected gift that was! I will say though, that you’ve never experienced wind until you’ve experienced wind in Ireland. I was quite literally blown off my feet more than once (and I have have the dirt stains on my jeans to prove it :-))!

We chose not to travel very much once we got into Doolin. Instead, we relished every moment of soaking up the heartbeat of that little community… Really experiencing Irish country life firsthand. We couldn’t get enough of the breathtaking cliffs of Moher and spent several days there- we explored the Burren, and took a little trip down to Bunratty to tour the castle and enjoy their Traditional Irish Night performance. It was a fun cultural experience with delicious food and high quality performers. Definitely worth the hour+ drive!

Before we left the country, we drove over to Drogheda to visit a dear friend and her new husband, then we were headed back to Dublin the next day: bound for Tuscany!

Some highlights: the Irish breakfasts, the beautiful endless stone walls, our Innkeepers (a couple around our own age actually!) who truly welcomed us into their family, the breathtaking pastoral scenery all around Doolin, the local music, the peaceful, slower pace of life… It was all a wonderful dream – one we actually got to live awake! So, so grateful for the experience.

 

14 thoughts on “Ireland

  1. Oh, I had so much fun looking through your slideshow — yay for Ireland! I went with my parents and sister in 2011, and I’m still thinking about all the fun we had. We never did make it to the western part of the country . . . our trip was pretty centered on Kilkenny, Dublin, Glendalough and Waterford. But it was absolutely enchanting. Can’t wait to go back, and the Cliffs of Moher are absolutely on my list!

    Friends of mine that just got married Saturday are there now on their honeymoon . . . they were most worried about driving on the “wrong” side of the road, haha. Though in Ireland, they kept reminding us that they drive on the “right” side, of course — we’re the ones in the “wrong”! πŸ™‚

    • How wonderful that your friends are spending their honeymoon there! What an enchanting memory :-). I totally get the “wrong” side of the road thing. It’s a bit intimidating! But we certainly lived to tell the tale :-). Yes, if you get to go back, I hope you do have the opportunity to travel west. It’s just so different! County Clare is simply breathtaking. –

  2. I love the slideshow you put together! Your photography skills did you well on your trip. πŸ™‚ Also, I love that you made an effort to experience Doolin as a local. When I finally make it across the pond, my husband and I have already agreed that part of our itinerary will be to not have an itinerary. πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you Lindsay. If there’s one thing this trip confirmed, it’s that I don’t know much about my camera! I’m fairly comfortable shooting in similar lighting situations, from similar distances, etc. but when it comes to the ever changing light, and vast expanses of the countryside, I was at such a loss! – Love what you said about making part of your itinerary that you won’t have an itinerary. This was the first trip we took where we truly implemented that, and it was absolutely wonderful. Most relaxing trip we’ve ever been on!

  3. Oh , Kristin, I’m so glad I saw this! I did an academic term in in Ireland through the month of May, and this brought back such wonderful memories! Your pictures are way more remarkable than mine were, though. πŸ™‚ There is truly a quiet magic there.

    • Aw, you’re so sweet Heather :-). So glad it brought back some fun memories for you! Ireland is such a wonderful place! So blessed to have been able to visit. You guys doing well? Don’t forget to let me know when you’re back in town so we can schedule a little photo shoot!

  4. Gorgeous pictures! So glad that you had beautiful weather while you were there. Ireland is definitely on my list of places I’d love to visit… but I’m really excited to hear about Tuscany!

    • Thank you so much Allison! We were so incredibly blessed by how good the weather was while we were there. It’s not the norm! Certainly one to keep on your list – and we highly recommend Tuscany too…those pictures to come soon. Hopefully this afternoon if I can put the finishing touches on the slide show!

  5. So glad that you had a good time! And thanks for sharing with us in blogland – your slideshow brought back such lovely memories for me!

    • Thank you Heather, and you’re welcome! So glad you enjoyed them, and that they were able to remind you of your own time on the Emerald Isle :-).

  6. I’ve been to Ireland and loved every minute of it!! I have a good friend in Dublin I chat with all the time. I’m hoping I can go back!! If you ever get the chance to spend time there again… go to Glendalough, there are some amazing pictures on my blog from there, just search for “Ireland” !

Leave a Reply

