How to Make “Milk Glass” Mason Jars

How to make "milk glass" mason jars | kristinsveranda.com/vignettes
I love mason jars. Especially the vintage kind. The old styles are just so much cuter than the modern kind you buy at the store today. Don’t you think? Knowing that I wanted to use some in my spring decorating this year, I’ve been patiently assembling a small army from various thrift stores around town. Different shapes, sizes, and ages, I adore some of the treasures I found! Total cost: around $3

IMG_7697
I knew I wanted to paint my jars a pretty robin’s egg blue, and thought I’d share the process with you today. It’s easy as a wink. I started by washing the jars thoroughly. Then picked up a few bottles of acrylic craft paint at Michaels. They were on sale for .33 each.

IMG_7702
I thought the turquoise was a bit too bright, so I added a little gray and white to soften the tone.

IMG_7706
Then I added in a touch of water, and mixed it all up:

IMG_7721

 Now it’s time to pour some paint into the jar!

IMG_7709
And slowly swirl it all around so that it coats the whole interior:

IMG_7713
After it’s smoothly covered,  invert the jar into a styrofoam bowl, and let the excess paint drip out for a few minutes (maybe 5-10?):

IMG_7718
Then carefully lift them out, wipe the rim, and let them continue to dry upright. Here’s one more look at the finished project. I’m so pleased with how they came out!

IMG_78291
You can, of course, spray paint (or brush paint) the outside of mason jars too, but I love the soft, creamy, smooth, finish that you get when you paint the interior. Reminds me a little of milk glass or jadeite. And it still leaves that shiny glass finish in tact! – Inspiration courtesy of Jennifer Blair, who is my mason jar and natural cotton boll muse. 🙂 You can see some of hers HERE and HERE.

Enjoy this little tutorial? Feel free to share it with your friends via the buttons below!

Follow Vignettes so you never miss a post: Facebook, Bloglovin’, Twitter, Instagram

15 thoughts on “How to Make “Milk Glass” Mason Jars

    • Thanks Kate! It was so fun doing them. I agree with you…painting on the inside helps keep the vintage charm in tact :-). Hope your week is off to a great start!

  1. What a cute and creative project! I definitely want to revitalize my living spaces now that spring is (almost) here. Though they’re calling for snow this week, I’m pretending it’s warm and sunny! And these just make me smile.

    • Thank you Meg! I know what you mean, spring just makes you want to freshen everything up, huh? Calling for snow here too, and I, for one, would be thrilled if we got some (spring decorations or not!). 🙂

    • Thank you Karla! I’m so into robin’s egg blue this year! Funny how certain colors catch our fancy in a big way sometimes, isn’t it?! And aren’t cotton bolls so great? I love the soft, whimsical, natural touch they add to my spring decor. Thanks for stopping by! I hope your doing well :-).

  2. Pingback: Fashion and Fabulous Finds Friday | Vignettes

Leave a Reply

