The Beauty of a Handwritten Letter

IMG_7660

Is it just me, or is there a gentle, pleasant, comforting, sentimental aura evoked by a beautifully written letter? A real letter. The kind that comes by post and is scripted in ink…

I’m often accused of being old fashioned. Of bucking technology (ironic that I’m a blogger, isn’t it?). But part of my heart is old. The part that loves pearls and lace and peonies. The part that adores antique stores and old books. The part that delights at the sound of a Victrola playing. That same part thrills at the sight of a hand written envelope sitting in my mailbox.

IMG_7663
There is such romance attached to the thought of a tactile object making long journeys to find its intended recipient. How much of the world that prosaic little folded rectangle of paper has seen! Sometimes crossing oceans, mountains, countries; sometimes just rumbling across town.

But no matter how far it has traveled, it always carries with it, beneath the carefully sealed flap, a small part of the heart of the sender. And in this world of electronic everything, I often crave the tangible. Something to hold in my hand; a little piece of paper that connects you to a someone as an e-mail never could. I love slowly soaking in the words, then displaying it on my nightstand- to catch glimpses of and smile, and later tucking it away in my letter box… And because such things are so rare these days, they have become priceless treasures.

I was talking to a friend recently about how, in our ideal world, we would sit by the fire after dinner every night; sipping tea, and catching up with all our friends via post. But that just doesn’t happen nowadays, does it? Sad. What can we rearrange in our lives to allow more time for this “vintage” form of communication? Will we who love words, who love pen and ink, who love gorgeous stationary, who love connection, revive it? Or is it really just going the way of the dinosaur…

IMG_7665

I’ve recently been conscious of making sure I’m able to spend a little time each day with some pen and paper. Even if it’s only 15 minutes, and truly, it’s almost like therapy! Something about slowing down, meticulously forming letters, letting your thoughts drift toward the person to whom you are writing as you catch them up on the latest goings on…it’s good for the soul.~

Do you enjoy “snail mail”? Do you still send/receive it?

 

6 thoughts on “The Beauty of a Handwritten Letter

  1. I absolutely LOVE snail mail! Both sending and receiving them. I guess I’m pretty old-fashioned in that regard too. 🙂 There’s just something special about a physical letter or card that the person took time to select (or make by hand). I always visualize how the person took the time to sit down, maybe stare out a window, have a cup of tea or coffee, and carefully compose a letter.

    “There is such romance attached to the thought of a tactile object making long journeys to find its intended recipient. How much of the world that prosaic little folded rectangle of paper has seen! Sometimes crossing oceans, mountains, countries; sometimes just rumbling across town.
    But no matter how far it has traveled, it always carries with it, beneath the carefully sealed flap, a small part of the heart of the sender.”

    YES!!! I feel the exact same way and I couldn’t have said it better. I have friends from all over and whether the letters are sent from somewhere within the US, Asia, or Europe, snail mail just makes me happy. 🙂

    • So fun to hear that others feel the same way Mia! Let’s keep the postal service in business :-)! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your thoughts today… I appreciate you!

  2. Oh, how I love real cards and letters! I have a drawer full of pretty stationary, and have purposed to send more notes. But I always feel that the simple sentiments I write are clunky and awkward. I flow much better using a keyboard. Or perhaps I need to choose a topic to write about instead of just general encouragement or thanks as I usually do. Thanks for your post!

    • I’m sure your notes are just beautiful Jo! I know most of us bloggers flow well with a keyboard, but I’m absolutely sure that they people lucky enough to receive a hand written note from you don’t think they are awkward in the slightest! I’m so glad you enjoyed the post 🙂

  3. I love love love snail mail. And I actually still have a pen pal from the 4th grade! Although I must admit, we have reverted to emails and texts most of the time these days. I still have all of our old letters though, and occasionally we will still write, and it’s so nice. I keep stationary and cards at home to send to others when need be, and I agree it is therapeutic to write words with pen and paper.

    XO,

    Gina

    http://www.popcornandpandas.wordpress.com

    • Wow! That is so amazing that you guys kept in touch! How special to have shared so much letter-exchanging over the years :-). Loved reading your comment Gina! Thank you, and thanks so much for stopping by today!

Leave a Reply

