One Item – Six Ways

Time for our next installment of “One Item, Six Ways”. Ready? Today we’re checking out the versatility of the ubiquitous button down shirt. The one I’m wearing in these photographs is pretty middle-of-the-road as far as dressiness goes: an all-season light cotton, in a feminine calico print.

IMG_7527 Style #1: -All American Girl- throwing on a jean jacket and some interesting-yet-still-neutral cords makes this button up ready to head out shopping or to a meet up with your girlfriends at the coffee shop.

IMG_7518 Style #2: -Classically Casual- this outfit is totally me. Old comfy jeans, a soft pullover scoop neck sweater, leather booties, and a touch of classic jewelry to add some polish. Perhaps my favorite way to wear a button-down.

IMG_7553 Style #3: –A Little Bit Country- Yet another way to make a sleeveless sundress last all year long. Shown here with the button-down knotted at the waist, and some boots for warmth.

IMG_7571 Style #4: -Sunny Days- In the warmer months, use your long sleeved button-down as a light jacket to fend off morning and evening chill.

IMG_7581 Style #5: -Belted Blues- This time, the jeans are a dressier dark wash, and our button-down is tucked in and belted. Because it is winter, I added an ivory scarf to the ensemble. This is perhaps the most versatile of the styles. Wear it anywhere!

IMG_7545Style #6: -Dressed Up With No Place to Go- Taking the cotton shirt to the next level by pairing it with a high-waisted leather skirt, wide belt, and ever ladylike pearls; your everyday shirt, just got its fancy on!

So there you have it. Six different ways to style your favorite button-down. Variety is the spice of life (and the key to a fresh and endlessly remixable wardrobe too incidentally)!

If you’d like to see more One Item – Six Ways posts, CLICK HERE.

And if you’re still not convinced that a button-down shirt (or two or three) are a very practical addition to your remixable wardrobe, you can watch the video I made with even more button-down ideas HERE!

I’m so glad you stopped by today! Did you enjoy this post? Feel free to share it with your friends using the buttons below, and you may want to follow Vignettes so you never miss another!

8 thoughts on “One Item – Six Ways

  1. You are so beautiful Kristin!!! I love how your laughter and personality just shine through in these photos!! And I think that the Classically Casual outfit is my favorite…it looks so comfy and well put-together!!

    Have a lovely day =)

  2. GET OUT. I only made it through two photos before I opened two browser windows (for Kohl’s and Target) to hunt down some cute button-downs. I don’t own any other than my blouses for work which are work-only shirts.

    I’m learning so much from you. 🙂

  3. Um. True story. I never got the chance to tell you this…. I ordered a pink floral oxford that was on sale at J.Crizzle after seeing this post. I can’t wait. 🙂 And they should totally send some commission your way for that top I just bought.

    • Hahahaha! That top IS from JCrew! Did you get the same one??? Girl. Reason #297 that we should live on the same street: we could sure save a lot of money if we could just share wardrobes ;-). Btw. I never told you this on Instagram, but that plaid JCrew button down you recently posted (w/ Alex), I have been PINING over something fierce. You just have no idea. They have been sold out forever, and on ebay, going for $70. I even saw one come through the clearance store in Lburg IN MY SIZE no less, and someone had already put it on hold. That was a sad, sad day. 😦 But I am determined, I will own that shirt one day! Hopefully I’ll still like plaid shirts by the time I get a hold of it! Ha!

Leave a Reply

