Home Tour – The Den

So enough of you requested (begged, demanded, ha!) a tour of my home that I am finally giving in! It’s not a big or fancy house – just a simple modular ranch with an open floor plan – but with all the renovations we’ve been doing over the past year, I figured it was high time for an update on what things are looking like around here anyway. – We live on 3 acres in the country, and our place is called Windy Poplars. *Side note: are there any readers out there who have been following along since my blog was called Windy Poplars?? Stand up and wave, and imagine me giving you a big bouquet of roses and a kiss ;-)!

Thought I’d start the tour today in the den – which is a really difficult room to photograph. It’s just…busy looking…no bones about it. Especially since I had an explosion of fallishness happen on my mantle! The music gallery wall makes things seem hectic in photos, but I promise, it’s a more peaceful place in real life when you can see the blank walls at the same time. But enough qualification, I’ll let the photos do the talkin’…

Here is the view that you see when you’re standing in the kitchen:

And this is to the left up near the fireplace, complete with a cozy cat curled up on the chair:

These bookshelves are on your immediate right:

And this little table and my favorite chair are right in front of you, sort of in the middle of the room:

There is a tall antique highboy (which is great for storage) to the left of that table/chair:

And in the first photo, you can see the very top of the two leather recliners, that I call “the gorillas” – because, well, that’s what they look like!

This mirror is above the couch, looking at the fireplace on the opposite wall:

Fireplace gate detail:

And the floor detail. It’s much darker brown than it came out looking-don’t know why it seems so red…you know how color can be on cameras… It’s a hand scraped hickory that’s meant to look old and weathered. We looked loooong and hard for this floor, but are very happy with our decision!

Β So there’s our den, or well, as much of it as I could capture in pictures today! Our inspiration during the remodel was the Restoration Hardware catalog from two seasons ago. We loved the easy-to-live-in rustic/natural-meets-industrial with neutral feminine touches (and tufting, oh how I love tufting). We added in some leather, lots of varied wood tones and a good dose of linen.

It’s been a process, but we really love living in this room. It’s US in all our eclectic-ness, and just feels like, well, home :-)!

Thanks for stopping by for the tour of our main living area today…lots more to come!

38 thoughts on “Home Tour – The Den

  1. A few things… First, we have hickory floors, too!!! Moroccan hickory and we LOVE them! It was the first thing we updated when we bought our house! Second, your house is GORGEOUS and I love your mantle! Third, we have very similar taste in house decorations. I even think your wall color matches pretty close to the wall color in our living room! Fourth, do I spy bunny ears behind that new tv? Fifth, I know I spy a kitten all nestled up! So cute!

    Oh, 6th, can’t wait to see you today!!!!

    • That’s so fun that we have matching homes! Great minds think alike, right?! πŸ˜‰ Yes. Bunny ears. Busted! ~ Thank you so much for your sweet comments Tina…and #6? !!!!! Going to go get ready right now πŸ˜€

  2. What a beautiful room, it looks so warm and inviting. I’d never leave the house if I had a room like this. I’m looking forward to the rest of the tour.

    • Thank you Taylor! That’s so sweet of you! That was definitely what was most important to us – for our home to seem inviting and not just like a display room where you don’t feel free to sit, touch, relax, put your feet up, etc…

    • Well gosh, thanks girl! You’re too kind. I’m still waiting to see more of YOUR beautiful home missy – hint, hint ;-)! You know, the good thing about fall is that it’s several months long, so you can change your mantle three times if you want! I’d say go for it :-)!

    • Hi Lianne! Thank you so much…imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, so when somebody pins any of my pics – I just about die of happiness πŸ™‚

  3. How did I not see this sooner! What a beautiful beautifully decorated room! I love the mix of wood and white and those leather chairs! I am slightly obsessed with restoration hardware too. – love your style and thanks for posting!

    • Thanks girl! I’m so glad you enjoyed Part 1 of the tour! More to come, I promise ;-). Told ya the pictures wouldn’t be great, but I tried what you said, and at least they are decent! Fellow RH lovers unite! Isn’t it such a wonderfully cozy, lived-in style? Just love it. One of these days…well who am I kidding…probably not ’til heaven…I’ll own one of their amazing Chesterton couches. My dream!

  4. Such a lovely glimpse into your home. It just looks so cozy. There’s even the sleeping kitty in an an armchair to prove just how cozy it is. πŸ™‚

    I’m wanting to do a gallery wall like you have one day. I have so many things I’d like to display.

    • Thanks girl! You’ll have to come see it in person soon! Maybe over the holidays?? We’ll have to have you guys over for sure… Gallery walls are so fun, aren’t they? Sounds like a good winter project to me :-)!

      • It would be great to see your place πŸ™‚

        I’ve really got to start working on a gallery wall. We have so many blank walls right now.

  5. So there I was, stopping by from another bloggy where I saw your button and…now I am speechless. I don’t think I have ever seen a cozier and more wonderfully put together living room, or room period, than yours. I am in awww. Does the rest of your house look as amazing as this room???? I’m in love.

    • Oh my goodness Rebecca…you are SO sweet! Your comment just made my day πŸ™‚ . Well, our home is still in renovation progress, so the answer to your question is β€œno!” the rest of the house is not nearly as finished as this room! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving some comment love. Hope your day is spectacular!

  6. Kristin, your blog and home are very lovely. I must say when I saw how you had the clock over your fireplace, I had to do the same in my home yesterday. I had a similar clock in my kitchen. It began a domino effect of switching out pictures all through the house!! But it worked out… and I’m glad. So… Thanks! Hope you have a wonderful day….

    • Hi Kathi! Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery :-). I’m so happy to have inspired you! Funny how once you start moving things, that domino effect just happens, huh? I love how even just moving accessories around to different places can make your whole home seem fresh! So fun. From the glimpses you’ve had on your blog, your home seems like such a wonderfully warm and inviting place to be…

      I hope your day is a good one! Thanks for stopping by this morning :-).

    • Thank you so much sweet girl! I feel like I can’t take much credit in the decorating department because so much of what I do is either copied or inspired by something I see! But I always enjoy the process :-). Happy Monday to you!

  7. Just popped over to see this after seeing your kitchen post–wow, you and your husband are talented! How long have you lived in your home? It just looks SO lived in, like you’ve really made it yours. I love that. We are renting right now but hope to buy a home soon and I have so many of the rooms already planned out in my mind! Haha! I can’t wait to actually put it all together.

    • Aw thank you *blushing*. We’ve been here for 9 years, but we have just done all our renovations in the past year (and they are still going on!). It’s taken us that long to really find our collective “style”, and now that we have, and have been able to implement it, our home feels so much more US! We truly love living here now πŸ™‚ – Oh, and I know what you mean about the renting itch! I had decorated and redecorated and redecorated our “one day home” in my mind while we were renting a white walled not-allowed-to-even-make-a-hole-in-the-wall-without-the-landlord’s-permission house! It’s such a blessing now to be be able to do whatever you want to your space…

  8. Pingback: Home Tour – The Kitchen | Vignettes

Leave a Reply

