Handmade Gift Ideas for the Holidays!

Listen…

Can you hear it?? That’s the sound of the holiday season tiptoeing up behind us! I’m one that’s all for planning/shopping/cooking early so that when the holidays are upon us, we are much more free to ride the joyful wave of festivities stress-free!

So in the spirit of planning ahead, today I have a simple, fun little craft idea for you that would make an excellent gift for friends, family, secret santas, and hostesses alike:

For you visual learners, you’ll find step by step photos if you keep scrollin’ on down. But let’s start at the beginning, shall we?

What you’ll need:
A white pillar candle
Tissue paper
Wax paper
A rubber stamp
Ink
A heat gun
Scissors

Stamp your image onto the tissue paper, and cut it out – fairly close to the image, but no need to cut all the way up to the lines. Place your tissue paper image onto the candle. Tear a piece of wax paper roughly the height of the candle and wrap it around the candle tightly, holding it taut (and covering your image). Using a heat gun, heat the image and wax paper until you see it starting to “melt” into the candle. The image will become more vivid, and the tissue paper will disappear. Slowly peel off the wax paper to reveal your image! If you can still see some tissue paper, you can re-cover and re-heat it until it’s all gone.~

I would buy a candle from the Dollar store to practice on a little bit before you do the real thing. It’s not hard, but takes a little while to get the hang of how much heat is too much heat (which then creates drips in the candle). It’ll only take you a couple of tries though – then you’ll be a pro!


Ta-da!!! Is that not too cool for school?!


You girls all inspired to get crafty yet? πŸ™‚ Hope so! And have I got a treat for you today:
more inspiration!!!!
The other gals in The Sisterhood have been cookin’ up some handmade goodness today too, so head on over to The Failte House to see Sheila’s beautiful chalkboard frame creations:


And to Like Ordinary Life to ooh and ahhh over Tina’s darling pillow:


But wait!!! There’s more!!!!! Drumroll please….

WE’RE ALL GIVING AWAY OUR CRAFTS TO YOU!!!!!!

That’s right! If you’d like to win all three of our crafts, head on over to THIS post to put your name in the hat. Run, don’t walk!!!

 

19 thoughts on “Handmade Gift Ideas for the Holidays!

  1. Pingback: The Sisterhood Fall Giveaway!!! | Vignettes

  2. Um, you are so cool and crafty! It would never have occurred to me to attempt something like that, but I love it! And I’ve been looking for a new crafty hobby lately . . . I mean, one can only crochet so many scarves. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, you are too sweet Meg! Heehee! I love your Harry Potter scarves :-), but yes, I can imagine your fingers would get tired after awhile… Hope your week is off to a great start girl!

    • Thanks Rach dear! I know, I’m lovin’ the crafts the other girls made. All inspired to get going for Christmas now :-). Hope you’re having a great week so far – gosh, we need to catch up – I’ve kind of lost touch with everyone over the past few weeks :-(.

  3. Kristin, you know I love DIYs!! You totally read my mind too… I saw a tutorial that I was gonna try this weekend where a lace print was applied to candles. Now, I want to try your wax paper stamp version also. I love how with stamps you can make your candles fit the decor of any season. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Erica! You’re right…you can personalize them and make them for any season with stamps! I love the sound of your lace print idea though…hope you try it, so I can find out how it works :-). Can’t wait ’til tomorrow!!!

Leave a Reply

