Mini Pumpkin Croissants

Sometimes I deviate from our whole/clean/no-pre-packaged foods policy around here because, well, it’s just yummy. Especially when I see a new seasonal recipe that is screaming my name. Case in point: these little bites of delight originally from the blog Shaken Together. Allow me to pique your interest and get your mouth watering with a few photos…

Can’t you just smell their pumpkin-y fall-ish goodness? This recipe does, however, come with a warning:

Making these delicious little unassuming croissants may be hazardous to your self control. They will call to you from the cooling rack, the counter, and the fridge. They will not allow you to stop at just one, nor will they leave your mind for more than a couple of seconds each day as long as they remain in your house. But it’s not the end of the world…since they’re low-fat. πŸ™‚

Consider yourself warned.

Mini Pumpkin Croissants

1 tube of reduced fat crescent rolls
1/2 block of neufchatel (low-fat cream cheese) (about 4 oz.)
1 cup of canned pumpkin
1 – 2Β TΒ pumpkin pie spice** (depending on how spicy you like things)
3 – 4Β T sucanot (or granulated sugar)

**if you don’t have any on hand, scroll to the bottom of this post for an easy mix-your-own recipe

For topping:

4 T sucanot (or granulated sugar)
1 T pumpkin pie spice

Preheat oven to 375. Beat together the cheese, pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, and sucanot until fluffy and creamy. In another small bowl, combine the two topping ingredients and set aside.

Unroll the crescent rolls and cut each triangle in half longways to form mini-crescents. Place a generous dollop of the pumpkin mixture on the fat end of each triangle, spread a tiny bit up the pastry for “glue” and roll up starting with the fat end. This part will be a bit messy :-). Dip each mini crescent into the topping mixture to coat (I left the bottom coating free), and place on a baking sheet or stone.

Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until done. Store in the fridge.

________________________

I hope you enjoy these little gems of fallish goodness! They are perfect for breakfast, dessert, and especially anytime snacking. Not that I’d know anything about that… πŸ˜‰

Would you like to make your own Pumpkin Pie Spice? Just combine:

  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

You can double/triple/quadruple the quantities as desired depending on how much you need! Tip: Try sprinkling some on top of your coffee grounds before you run your coffee maker for a yummy fall treat!

Enjoy this recipe? Follow Vignettes so you don’t miss another post:
FacebookBloglovinTwitter

20 thoughts on “Mini Pumpkin Croissants

  1. Those are definitely calling my name! I can “eat healthy” most of the year (well — healthy-ish), but fall is really no time to be counting calories. Yum!

  2. I “finally” bought some Pumpkin last night because I’m dying to try out all the great recipe’s floating around with pumpkin in it. This one looks easy and delicious, definitely at the top of my list.

    • I know what you mean. I stocked up on pumpkin just this week so that when the mood strikes, I’m armed and dangerous! Ha! πŸ™‚ If you give these a try, you’ll have to let me know what you think!

      • I just made these and they are SO delicious! I posted a Picture today if you have a chance to check it out. Hope you had a great weekend. Thanks so much for this recipe πŸ™‚

  3. Next post: How To Make Mini Pumpkin Croissants Gluten Free.. ;-p *Sniff*
    Maybe I can just make them and then give them all to you. At least I could enjoy the smell in the house and lust after them a little bit..hehe
    They look yumm-o! Gonna remember this for company πŸ™‚

    • Oh sad…well you’re right, they WOULD be good for company anyway! I’ll bet you can make a pie crust-like recipe with the GF baking mix, and come up with something very close!

    • You’re so welcome Keri, thank YOU for sharing it! They have been such a hit at our house, and I know several of my blog readers are now totally addicted too :-). Hope your week is off to a great start!

  4. Kristin – I came up with an idea… I am just going to have to consult you for party food! Everything is looking so good on your blog. The cider drinks, the croissants, the smoothie type drink…. You have some fall food skill xo

Leave a Reply

