Fall Mantle Decor

Mantles are so much fun to decorate, aren’t they?! Just perfect for seasonal displays… And this year, much to my delight, I not only had our fireplace mantle to decorate, but we added a second mantle when we created our master bedroom headboard. For more on that process, CLICK HERE.

But back to decorating. Our room is very classic looking now – classic with a little glam, and a little rustic/antique/hunt touch. Hard to explain. But I knew I wanted to carry over the tranquil feel of the gray room into the fall decor and go with white, neutral, or metallic pumpkins. First I saw these mercury glass pumpkins on the Pottery Barn website. But they were $25-40 each. I loved the idea though, and ended up finding the beauties you’ll see in the photos below at Marshalls and TJ Maxx for $9 and $14 (and I actually even like the shapes better than PB). Holla!

Once they were decided upon for my focal points, I knew I wanted to keep the all-season green swag in the back so that they would have a darker color base (to keep them from blending into the wall), and I added a green moss ball to a mercury glass candlestick for a cute little instant topiary (which added both weight, height, and color). The lovebirds I use all over the house, all year long, and I liked the creamy white detail they added to the otherwise sparkly vignette. The bouquet in the middle is just a bunch of curly willow branches – if you enjoy decorating with natural elements, I suggest you plant one of these bushes in your yard. They might not be the prettiest when they grow, but they’re great for clipping! πŸ™‚ Lastly, just because the balance was slightly off, I brought in a small mercury glass votive holder to fill the post. It will be nice to have the option of some flickering romantic candlelight on the mantle, don’t you think?

And here is the whole sh-bang:

And with the reading lamps turned on…I love how they make the pumpkins glisten!

So what do you think? Do you like neutral/metallic fall decor, or are you more of an orange/rust/gold kind of girl?

Linking to Richella’s Grace at Home Party and Amanda’s Weekend Bloggy Reading

35 thoughts on “Fall Mantle Decor

  1. Beautiful! I greatly enjoy well decorated mantles, but unfortunately do not have the skill. It always amazes me how people are able to visualize something like this and carry it out. Well done!

    • Oh thank you LouAnne! You are too sweet! You’ll note, however, that I didn’t say how long it took me trying this, that, and the other thing before I was totally happy with it. Ha! πŸ˜‰

    • Awww…I’m blushing! Don’t know how good I am at it, but I enjoy playing around with design that’s for sure! As to the pictures, well, I have a rather good teacher πŸ˜‰

  2. Super sophisticated! I love it. It’s nice to switch up the usual rust-colored/pumpkin-colored pumpkins (yes, pumpkin-colored pumpkins . . . er, I’m such a wordsmith) with new touches. I just broke out a few decorations for my boyfriend’s place last night . . . not sure he’s thrilled with leaf explosion in the living room, but he’ll adjust! πŸ™‚

    • Oh Meg! Your comment made me smile! Love that you decorated your boyfriend’s place with a “leaf explosion”. Haha! My husband wasn’t used to seasonal decor before he met me (well, beyond a Christmas tree!), but now, after a few years, he actually looks forward to it :-). Happy Wednesday to you!

    • Thanks Aliesha! I’m rather head-over-heels for them myself. They seem such a nice classic, beautiful addition to the usual fall decor, don’t they? Thanks for stopping by and saying hello today! πŸ™‚

  3. So pretty! I LOVE those birds and the color scheme. Im getting jeolous of your Fall decorations because in Los Angeles it’s still 100 degrees! it’s our first Fall in our new home though and im so excited to decorate our mantle.

    • Ugh! Still 100?! Hope it cools down soon…Thank you for your sweet words! It’s so fun decorating a place for the first time isn’t it? So much possibility! Have fun πŸ™‚

  4. You and all your skills.

    Beautiful!

    By the way, I sure have missed hanging out over here. Soon, I’ll be back! Promise. Monday things will finally be normal again. Whew!

    • Aw, Twig-dear! I’ve missed ya! I know you’re travel worn from the past month, and I’m glad for your sake that life is getting back to normal soon. And for my sake too – so we get to hang out more here in blogland :-)! Thanks for your super sweet words friend…

  5. I really wanted the glass pumpkins at Pottery Barn too (saw some at the outlet this past weekend) but they were out of my price range. I’m going to go look for the ones you found. What a great deal! Your mantle looks lovely.

    • Hahaha! Sorry ’bout that :-). But you have to admit, the little check box is better than a captcha any day, no? Thanks for dropping a little sweetness in the comment box today! I love ya for it πŸ˜€

  6. I just decorated a little myself!

    I do love those pumpkins – I saw some on pinterest, and thought they were beautiful.

    I tend to like neutrals in any season! I also love a white, white Christmas.

    I decided to go a little more classic, though, for our table – I got a beautiful olive wood slab for a centerpiece and just put some pretty candles around it. I’m looking for some maize, too, but I think it’s still a little early!

    • Hooray for fall decorating!!! Oh, a home decorated in white for Christmas would be so gorgeous and elegant and peaceful! Lovin’ that idea!!! I’m sure your centerpiece looks just beautiful – can’t go wrong with classic and natural…can you?!

  7. Oh my gosh I love it! So classy! Can you come decorate mine please? At one point I had some fun things on the mantel, then the cats decided to break one of my PB vases and topiary. Thank you for that… So then I took everything off and the cats would just sleep up there! AH! Then back to cramming enough up there so they couldn’t walk on it. πŸ˜‰ oh boy… lol

    • Oh cats. Don’t even get me started. On our other mantle, I have these fluffy feathery grain things, and every morning they are somewhat askance – and I know just who to blame – my innocent looking munchy kitty – that stinker!!! So sorry to hear your broke some of your beautiful things! I would be fuming for sure. –

    • I put in a few years of waiting too, and when we bought this house, it was a non-negotiable on our list of things we wanted in a house. Seems shallow probably, but I am a mantle girl for sure. Well, you could always build a bed! Heehee πŸ™‚

  8. This is PERFECTION! I love the sparkle and how it doesn’t scream in your face “AUTUMN!” While this year, I used what I had on hand to create a very rustic table scape and outdoor decor, I already have my eyes on some decor to use for next year. This is a great vignette and perfect inspiration for next year. Thanks for sharing. I’m pinning this immediately!

  9. It looks awesome! I found some mercury glass pumpkins at TJMaxx myself this fall–I’m loving the simplicity of them! I do love the warm tones of traditional autumn decor, but I’m liking really simple things these days. Great job on your mantel!

    • Thanks Richella! I know, aren’t the mercury glass pumpkins just wonderful?! I have been craving one of those really cute tall and skinny ceramic ones that you got from TJ too, but I simply can’t find a β€œperfect spot” for it…so haven’t purchased it yet… Thanks so much for your kind words πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

