Jenni Talks About Intentional Living

Throughout this “Simplify” series, I’ve asked some of my friends here in blogland to share their thoughts on intentional living with you. I’m sure they will encourage and inspire your journey as we travel along together!

Today, we kick things off with Jenni from Story of My Life. An entertaining and introspective writer, an amazingly talented photographer, and someone who is truly walking this path toward intentional living by my side.Β  – I hope you’ll make her feel welcome :-).

Take it away J:

Ah, intentional living. Something that really wasn’t much on my radar until I met Kristin and accepted her challenge! Or something that I didn’t really have a label for, anyway. I knew I wanted it, but didn’t know what it was or how to really get there.

I feel lucky to have some really amazing influences in my life, and for the first time ever, I am on the road to satisfaction with my achievements and pride in how I use the minutes of my life. For me, I think it had to start with self empowerment. Getting over that feeling of “there’s-too-much-to-do-and-not-enough-time-in-the-day-and-I-think-I’ll-go-sit-on-the-couch-instead.” I still have my bouts with it, but people like my husband (and like Kristin!) have been the living examples of my favorite Mark Twain quote, “The secret of getting ahead is getting started. The secret of getting started is breaking your complex overwhelming tasks into manageable tasks, and then starting on the first one.” Intentional living, for me, has been about taking action where my prior self wouldn’t, whether that means organizing my life better, adding things to my life that were never there before (like people who will hold you accountable), or cutting things out of my life altogether, if necessary.

My top two passions for the past couple years have been blogging and photography, and “making it” in these two areas (while also “making it” in my personal life) has required living much more intentionally. Getting up early. Doing things that aren’t always fun, but still necessary. Using time wisely. <— That has always been my biggest weakness! But time, I think, and our stewardship of it, is crucial to living an intentional life, and one that you are proud of. One where you go to bed at the end of each day and say to yourself, “Today I took steps towards my goals. I made progress. I made room for what’s important, and learned to recognize what isn’t.” It’s a journey, and I’m happy to be traveling it.

**Thanks so much for having me, Kristin! Sure love you!

Tomorrow, join me as we talk about addition.

For more in this “Simplify” Series:

Day 2: Subtraction
Day 1: The First Step

Quote
Simplify – A Challenge

Like what you read here?! Follow Vignettes via Facebook or Bloglovin‘ and never miss a post!

18 thoughts on “Jenni Talks About Intentional Living

  1. This is a great post, and the timing is so perfect for the things going on in my own life right now. Thank you for sharing, I’m looking forward to the rest of the series!

    • Hi Allie! I’m so glad you’ve been encouraged by the “Simplicity” series, and look forward to having you along for the rest of the ride πŸ™‚

    • Hi Tiffany! I’m so glad you came over to visit from Jenni’s place! I always love getting to meet new blog friends :-). Look forward to having you along for the rest of the series! Enjoy your day…

  2. I found you via Jenni (I just love her) because I’ve been looking for a blog that has some intellect and great writing like hers and you, my dear, are what I’ve been searching for! I’ve been reading through your posts and I just love it!

    This simplify series is awesome. I can’t wait to see whats next!

    • Hi Kari! So nice to “meet” you. Any friend of Jenni’s is a friend of mine :-). Thank you so much for your kind words…you know how they just make a blogger’s day! Look forward to having you along for the journey – have a wonderful morning!

    • Awww…Twig-dear! I’m sure you’re not as bad as all that! You just psych yourself out and hype yourself up so much about it, that it seems like an insurmountable mountain to climb! But guess what? I happen to know you’re pretty awesome at climbing mountains πŸ˜‰ Every journey begins with the first step…

Leave a Reply

