Pooch Tales – A Fall Vacation

Hi to all Ma’s readers out there! It’s Chester, the alpha pooch here at Windy Poplars, and I’m pinch hitting for Ma today because she’s all busy painting and stuff (boooorrrrriiiinnnggggg…).

She said I could write about whatever I wanted, so I thought I’d tell you about a vacation we took together earlier this fall that she never wrote about because of that 31 Days of Fall thing that she was doing at the time. Ready? Ahem…

One upon a time, we (my sister Caroline and I) took a long car trip to a cabin in the woods with Ma and Pa, our Aunt Amy and Cousin Monte, Grandma and Grandpa, Auntie Em and our new Uncle JonBoy.

Once we finally arrived, we were greeted by a little fawn right in front of our cabin. I knew then, that this was gonna be a fun trip…lots of things to sniff and chase!

Can you see the deer? Look real closely, it’s kind of camouflage!

We settled in and had a grand old time. Here is a picture of Chairel (what we call Caroline sometimes), Monte, and I creating a “fracas” as Ma calls it:

Then we were enjoying the rocking chair on the porch post-fracas, and Ma wanted to take our picture.

I know how to look at the camera, but Chairel is busy looking at Monte. She kind of thinks he’s the greatest!

In fact, here she is pretending to be Monte. She’s laying in his bed, chewing on his bone!

Oh brother! Such a poser.

Monte is allowed to have people food (but we aren’t), so when he was given the empty ice cream container, we were very curious:


…and of course Chairel had to try it (because she’s a poser, remember?)

Time for some family photos:

Yeah. This was the best of the bunch. I had gotten tired by this point, and was about to fall off Ma’s lap asleep!

Then it was time to pack up and head home. How sad. I did help supervise the packing though! Vacations are so fun! Thanks for taking us Ma…we really had a good time. Beats staying home with a sitter any day.

Do you take your pets with you on vacation?

One thought on “Pooch Tales – A Fall Vacation

  1. Enjoyed your post Chester!! We have a chocolate lab, Lady Emily Berkshire, and we take her on vacations too. She especially loves the beach. Tell your Ma that I am “hooked” and I am loving every minute of it!!! The problem is, I haven’t gotten anything done for the past couple of days because of reading her blog!!!! But, this is a good thing!!!! Thanks for sharing!! :O)

Leave a Reply

