Jenni’s Chili

If you’re visiting from Jenni’s place today – WELCOME! I just love meeting new friends…hope you’ll stick around and explore the Veranda – make yourself at home!

Today for our recipe of the week, we have a special guest chef in the kitchen: Miss Jenni from Story of My Life. In case you’ve never met her, she is a wonderful writer, story teller, photographer, and consequently, blogger! Beyond her stellar abilities though, she is truly a sweet soul…and the more I get to know her, the more I’m convinced she is a kindred spirit (exhibits A and B and C: we own some of the same clothes – one time we even wore the same thing on the same day, often she’ll blog about something that had just happened to me as well, and we both have a borderline clinical H. P. addiction)!  I’ve so enjoyed having her as a bloggy friend-she’s a dear.

Even though I hear they’re still all parched and sweaty out there in TX (bless their hearts), Jenni’s got fall on her mind #mykindofgirl, and is here to share one of her very favorite comfort foods with us. – Take it away Jenni!

Hello friends of the Veranda!!  Jenni here, from Story of My Life!

A visual aid! Ha!

First let me just say that I’ve SO enjoyed getting to know Kristin over the past months–she absolutely gives off a glow of warmth and comfort and kindness, and her blog is as “homey” as a space on the Internet can possibly be!  So in keeping with the warm and cozy feel of “Kristin’s Veranda,” I wanted to share with you a delicious, perfect-for-fall recipe that is one of my absolute favorites!

It’s a Betty Crocker “Hearty Beef Chili” recipe, but the major difference between it and other chili recipes I’ve had is the type of meat used (this one calls for stew meat instead of ground beef or turkey), and I also think adding the cilantro as garnish makes ALL the difference!

Here’s a few pictures:

Hearty Beef Chili (for the crockpot)
You’ll need:

2 1/2 lb beef stew meat, cut into 1-inch cubes
2 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons oil (I just use extra virgin olive oil)
4 1/2 teaspoons chili powder
2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons ground cumin
2 dried bay leaves
1 1/2 cups beef-flavored broth
1 can (28 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained
1 cup chopped onion
1 cup green bell pepper (I leave these out since I don’t like them)
3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
3 tablespoons cornmeal
1 can (15 oz) black beans, drained, rinsed
1 can (4.5 oz) chopped green chiles

Garnish with:
Freshly grated cheese
Sour cream
Chopped fresh cilantro

Directions
1. In large resealable food-storage plastic bag, place half of the beef and 1 tablespoon of the flour; seal bag and shake to coat. Repeat with remaining beef and flour. In 4-quart Dutch oven or other large pan , heat oil over medium-high heat. Cook beef in oil until brown on all sides; drain, if desired.

2. Transfer meat to crockpot and stir in remaining chili ingredients except cornmeal, beans and chiles. Cook on low about 7-8 hours or on high about 4-5 hours (it’s done when the meat is melt-in-your-mouth tender!).

3. Stir in cornmeal; cook and stir about 1 minute to thicken. Add beans and chiles; cook until thoroughly heated. Remove bay leaves. Serve chili with garnishes.

* * *

And, as pictured above, cook up some biscuits or cornbread for the side!

I swear, this is the BEST. CHILI. EVER.

Thanks for having me over, Kristin!  And have a great day everyone. 🙂

* * *

Thanks for dropping in for dinner here on the Veranda today Jenni (and for bringing the food to boot!), I can’t wait to try your chili this fall…it sounds so delicious!

You can find Jenni blogging her heart out over at SoML 5-7 days a week. Her porch is always open for visitors!

Have you heard about the
Fall Friendship Swap
happening here on Kristin’s Veranda?
Go check it out, and join in the fun!

7 thoughts on “Jenni’s Chili

  1. We are having an Indian summer here in Seattle, temps in the high 80’s this weekend and this week its still in the 70’s. I am not complaining but I am such a soup fan that I am eagerly awaiting the cooler days because this chili sounds amazing and I cannot wait to try it! Delish.

  2. Hello Webmaster,

    We are interested in exchanging links with your site.  
    We have a Google Page Rank of 3 and 1000 unique users a day.

    If you are interested in Link partnership with us… 
    Please add our link to your site with my link information given below and send me the URL where you have placed my link OR Send us your link details if you want your link to be placed on our site first.

    Here is our linking information:

    Title: Brownie Recipe
    URL: http://www.browniepower.com

    Please e-mail your response or any questions to: holly@browniepower.com

    PLEASE DON’T CONSIDER THIS EMAIL AS SPAM MAIL. 

    Thanks & Regards
    Holly Tucker
    Holly@browniepower.com

Leave a Reply

