Lemon Coconut Macaroons – Light ???

I am so excited to share this recipe with you originally from Lauren at Healthy Food for Living. I’ve made a few small changes below (because heaven forbid I follow a recipe without deviating a bit), but you can find the original recipe HERE. I adore coconut macaroons (that’s what happens when you’ve got a father with a taste buds from the islands), yet only indulge rarely because of the incredibly high fat content. Anybody with me?? Well, today I’m here to say that this recipe will change your life! Macaroons with half the fat (or less!) because you substitute oats in for some of the coconut. Brilliant! And trust me when I say that you can’t taste the difference. I’d totally tell you that sort of thing. My dad (Mr. Coconut Macaroon himself) even gave these a thumbs up, and was surprised when I told him the secret ingredient – after he had scarfed them up. Although these little lemony jiggers are wonderfully fresh, I would really like to try them with lime next time. I adore a good coconut/lime combo!2 2/3 cup shredded unsweetened coconut (8oz package) -or- 1 cup of coconut butter
1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
zest of 1 lemon (avoid the white pith)
2 t freshly squeezed lemon juice, or more to taste
3/4 cup agave nectar
1 T vanilla bean paste or extract
1/2 t salt
Cardamom

Preheat oven to 300. Line a baking sheet with a silpat or parchment or use a baking stone.

In a food processor, process the 2 2/3 cups of coconut for about 5-8 minutes, until a thick, smooth coconut butter forms, scraping down the sides as needed.

Combine the coconut butter and all of the remaining ingredients in a bowl. Stir until well combined.

Using a mini ice cream scoop or a small spoon, scoop the dough onto the prepared baking sheet (no need to leave much room in between as they do not spread out). Sprinkle tops with cardamom.Bake for about 18-20 minutes, or until the bottoms of the macaroons are lightly browned. The macaroons will be very soft as this point.

Allow the macaroons to sit at room temperature on the baking sheet for about 30 minutes, or until they firm up and cool down.As always, a printable version can be found on Victuals. Have a wonderful Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Lemon Coconut Macaroons – Light ???

  1. mmmm! I heart anything coconut! But can you believe that I have never made macaroons before? I think it is time…especially since they are half the fat:-) Have a great day my friend!

Leave a Reply

