Indulge Me, Won’t You?

Girls, I’ve made it almost all summer without going on and on about my perennial love affair with hydrangeas. If any of you have been with me since the Windy Poplars days (are there any of you out there?!), you know how hard that has been for me. 😉 So will you allow me just this one leetle post to show off my beauties this year? Last year was a much better bloom year overall, but this season I had some bushes that had previously been low bloomers put on quite a good display.Hydrangeas make me happy. They are the flower of my soul. No other flower makes my go weak at the knees, or makes my heart flutter excitedly.My inspiration has always been (since I was a little girl), the side of the barn in the movie “Anne of Green Gables” and the never-ending hedge of hydrangeas that is well up above any of the actor’s heads. I knew, when I had my own home, that I would plant hydrangeas……and not just a bush or two…But loads! And plant I have. I think I have around 40 plants now of all varieties.Sadly, their summer bloom is coming to an end. I’m still scavenging a few from around the yard to fill my hydrangea bowl on the kitchen table, but for the most part they are done until next year. Parting is such sweet sorrow.If I’m lucky, sometimes a few brave buds will make their appearance in the fall, and will be a very happy surprise — if they don’t succumb to the frost first.Do you have a favorite flower?!

Don’t forget MONDAY is the beginning of my Blog Warming Party! You won’t want to miss it! Prizes EVERYDAY, guest posters, fun announcements, we’ve got it all! Synchronize your watches ladies. See you then! You can read all the details HERE.

Linking up with Amanda at Serenity Now.

4 thoughts on “Indulge Me, Won’t You?

  1. Your hydrangeas look great! Mine didn’t bloom this year, sad 😦 So thanks for sharing yours and letting me live vicariously through you!

  2. Hydrangeas are my favorite flowers, too. My bridesmaids carried them in our wedding. I’m also a huge fan for old fashioned white roses and peonies.

  3. LOVE! I just soaked this post right up. You see, I live in NM. We have gorgeous sunsets and beautiful mountains and green chile, but it’s so dry out here that hydrangeas would wither away. Your post made me happy!

Leave a Reply

