After the Wedding…

So we have survived! The bride wasradiant, the groom so handsome, the evening was beautiful, and the newlyweds are off ontheir honeymoon. In the meantime, here we all sit with aching backs and hangovers.Seriously people, I am here to declare that it should be commonknowledge and a mandatory practice that the family of the brideshould plan a “recover moon” right after any family wedding. It’s notthat it’s all of the emotion of the event (although that does hit you in overwhelming waves), and not even really all the manual labor of a DIY wedding(although there is a lot of that involved), but it’s the dangerous combinationof the two that makes it such an exhausting ride. – I have to say though,that I loved the process! It was truly wonderful being involved through all the planning stages, and great to stand up as my sister’sMatron of Honor. The day went swimmingly overall, and the bride and groom were sohappy with the result. I was even (you’d be proud of me) able tomostly let go of the details of the day andjust enjoyed the ride! That is a feat, a FEAT I tell you, for afirstborn organized, fanatical, perfectionistic, wedding director type like myself. I need a vacation.
I know what you really want though, isto see pictures. I didn’t take too many, so I’m hoping thephotographer will have a bunch posted on her website soon that I candirect you to. Here are a few to hold you over in the meantime:

At Fresh Market buying flowers the day before. Jonathan pushing the cart. I loved it!

A “before” view of the venue

Centerpieces in progress…

Bow-tie tying lessons after the rehearsal dinner

The bridesmaids at the Tea Tavern the morning of the big day

After brunch, it was off to the day spa!

Some girls got massages, some got their hair done. Here’s our room at the spa ^

The worlds most last minute first dance lesson (while we were waiting to be announced!)

*Love*

Just before their getaway
2 thoughts on “After the Wedding…

  1. These are fun! I can't wait to see more. I think I know what you mean about family weddings- we had our wedding and ceremony at my parents, complete with tent and 200 people (which was a feat, as there was NOT space for that) – and from what I hear – it took my family the whole week I was gone to recover, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

